Minutes of the Skyland Church 2017 Annual Meeting

                                                               January 29, 2017

Call to Order: Moderator Marcia Rollins called the meeting to order at 11:45.                                 Opening Prayer: The Reverend Stephen Glauz-Todrank opened the meeting with prayer.             Quorum Check: Twenty six members were in attendance satisfying the requirement of twenty five for a quorum.                                                                                                                            Approval of Budget Meeting Minutes: Minutes for the Budget Meeting, held June 12, 2016, were approved as written.                                                                                                                           Approval of Annual Report:  The 2016 Annual Report was approved as written.                            Treasurer’s Report: Gerry Alonzo reviewed the year-to-date financials using a two-page spreadsheet that gave details for all accounts. The income and expenditures were shown to be running very close to budget for this half of the fiscal year.                                                                   Nominations and Elections: The proposed Slate of Officers for 2017 was presented to the congregation. John Gaffney asked that his name be removed from the Communications Committee. Several members volunteered to fill vacancies on the Music and Arts and the Communication Committees as follows:                                                                                                      Music and Arts,       Class of 2018, Linda Heyes and Paula Leary                                                                                               Class of 2017, Jeremy Cole                                                                                         Communications,     Class of 2019, Cliff Barney                                                                                         All nominations were accepted and the slate was elected unanimously.                                             By-law Change: Anne Evans, having met the requirements for early posting of all changes, moved that the By-laws governing the Board of Religious Education be amended to provide for a six member board with members elected for a two year term, rather than nine members each elected for a three year term. The change also included the provision that the Chairman of the Board serve as Church School Superintendent when that position is open. The motion was passed unanimously.                                                                                                .       Announcements: The Moderator announced that the Site Committee would hold an all- day meeting with architect Bob Theis on February 18 beginning at 10: 00 AM.

Larry Lopp commented favorably about the By-law change to adjust the size of the Board of Religious Education to better meet current conditions. He also suggested that perhaps the Council should discuss the need for updating other By-laws.

Rev. Stephen Glauz-Todrank thanked Marcia Rollins for her excellent, and kind, leadership over the last two years.  The meeting was adjourned at 12:30.

Meeting minutes submitted by Don Law